in ,

Blizzard Details the Diablo 4 Endgame With a New Video

Diablo 4 Lilith

Before Diablo 4 launches in June, Blizzard has taken the opportunity to outline what endgame content players will have access to.

Anyone that has played a Diablo game will know that the fun only really begins once you have completed its campaign. And while Diablo 4 seems like it might have one of the lengthiest and best campaigns in Diablo history, we’re still more excited about what awaits us once we’re done with all the chatter.

In Diablo IV | Into the Endgame, Blizzard has broken down what activities players can look forward to once the game’s campaign is over. And luckily for us, it seems like quite a lot. Below you’ll find a quick overview of each.

Paragon System

The Paragon System returns from Diablo 3, but here it’s very different. You’ll no longer be able to gain infinite Paragon levels, but each level will be more meaningful. Using points earned via Paragon levels, you’ll chart your own path trough a Paragon Board, further developing your character as you wish. Can even rotate the board to prioritise certain upgrades.

Codex of Power

Similar to the Powers system in Diablo 3, the Codex of Power in Diablo IV allows you to collect Aspects, which can then be used to further customise your playstyle. You’ll be able to collect Aspects by completing Dungeons and finding legendary items. And once you’ve added them to the Codex of Power, you can even add them to the items you find.

Nightmare Dungeons

With Sigils, you’re going to be able to turn the many dungeons found throughout Sanctuary into Nightmare Dungeons. These Nightmare Dungeons will be darker and harder, with more intense battles, additional objectives and even affixes to overcome. But of course, they’ll also offer greater rewards. We’re going to love tackling these.

Helltide Areas

Helltide areas are for those who still want to explore the world of Diablo 4. Seemingly much like Terror Zones in Diablo 2: Resurrected, areas of the map will frequently succumb to a Helltide, making them darker and more dangerous. Venture into a Helltide area and you’ll find powered up monsters, rivers of blood and meteors falling from the sky. By defeating enemies in Helltide areas players will obtain shards, which can then be used to open caches and obtain powerful items.

Whispers of the Dead

These are essentially bounties, offered to you by the Tree of the Dead. You might be tasked with heading off and killing some enemies in a certain part of the game’s world, for example, and once the bounty is done you can return to the tree to hand it in and collect your reward. Again, these will be great for those keen on making use of Diablo 4‘s huge map.

The Fields of Hatred

Those who love loot but also PVP will be able to go to the Fields of Hatred. Here, their task is to collect shards by defeating enemies. Before these shards can be of any use, however, they need to be purified. Players will be able to engage with others, trying to steal their shards before they can purify and escape with them. If a player does manage to escape with purified shards, and perhaps steal someone else’s along the way, they’ll be able to use them to get valuable rewards.

Of course, this is just what Diablo 4 will offer during its endgame at launch. As time goes one, it’s a sure bet that more endgame activities will be added, and existing ones tweaked. In any case, give the video below a watch if you want to see a glimpse of these activities ahead of launch.

Written by Richard Seagrave

Having discovered the dark world of Diablo as a youngster, Richard has since lost thousands of hours slaying demons and picking up sweet loot. He wouldn't have it any other way though.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Diablo 4 Lilith

Respeccing Your Character in Diablo 4 Won’t be Prohibitively Expensive

Diablo 4

There Won’t Be a Secret Cow Level in Diablo 4